Office of Disease Prevention logo

Menu

Prevention Research Coordinating Committee (PRCC)

header image for obesity

The NIH Prevention Research Coordinating Committee (PRCC) serves as a venue for exchanging programmatic and scientific information of interest to the NIH, as well as for planning and implementation of collaborative activities. As a trans-NIH committee, the PRCC provides a broad perspective on the current state-of-the-science, and disseminates to NIH Institutes and Centers information about prevention-related activities sponsored by Federal and non-Federal organizations. The PRCC also serves as an advisory body to the Director of ODP and makes recommendations regarding scientific, programmatic, and policy issues. ODP coordinates the activities of the PRCC.

For additional information about the PRCC, please contact:

Wilma Peterman Cross, M.S., Chair

Deputy Director, Office of Disease Prevention
petermaw@mail.nih.gov

Denise Stredrick, Ph.D., Executive Secretary

Health Science Policy Analyst, Office of Disease Prevention
stredrid@od.nih.gov

PRCC Members

NIH Partners

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

Peter Greenwald, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Director of Prevention
greenwap@mail.nih.gov

Martina V. Taylor, M.T.

Senior Prevention Science Advisor
Division of Cancer Prevention
martina.taylor@mail.nih.gov

Cynthia Vinson, M.P.A. (Alternate)

Dissemination and Implementation Coordinator
Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences
cvinson@mail.nih.gov

National Eye Institute (NEI)

Richard Fisher, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Science Policy and Legislation
Director, Office of Program Planning and Analysis
rfisher@nei.nih.gov

Neyal Ammary-Risch, M.P.H., M.C.H.E.S. (Alternate)

Director, National Eye Health Education Program
ammaryn@nei.nih.gov

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

Josephine Boyington, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Program Director, Clinical Application and Prevention Branch
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
boyingtonje@mail.nih.gov

Lawton S. Cooper, M.D., M.P.H.

Medical Officer
Division of Prevention and Population Sciences
cooperls@nhlbi.nih.gov

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)

Jeffrey P. Struewing, M.D., M.S.

Program Director, Genotype-Tissue Expression Project (GTEx)
National Human Genome Research Institute
struewij@mail.nih.gov

Alice Bailey (Alternate)

Scientific Program Analyst
Office of Policy, Communications and Education
baileyali@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

Marcel E. Salive, M.D., M.P.H.

Medical Officer
Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology
marcel.salive@nih.gov

Lyndon Joseph, Ph.D.

Program Officer
Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology
josephlj@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Ralph Hingson, Sc.D., M.P.H.

Director, Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research
rhingson@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

Jane Lockmuller

Chief, Strategic Planning and Evaluation Branch
Office of Strategic Planning, Initiative Development, and Analysis
lockj@mail.nih.gov

Nancy Touchette, Ph.D.

Health Research Program and Policy Analyst
Office of Global Research
ntouchette@mail.nih.gov

Karl A. Western, M.D., D.T.P.H.

Senior International Scientific Advisor
Office of Global Research
kw18q@nih.gov

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Disease (NIAMS)

Joan A. McGowan, Ph.D.

Director, Division of Musculoskeletal Diseases
mcgowanj@ep.niams.nih.gov

Susana Serrate-Sztein, M.D.

Director, Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
szteins@mail.nih.gov

William Phil Tonkins, Jr., M.S., Dr.P.H. (Alternate)

Health Scientist Administrator
Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
tonkinsw2@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Steven Krosnick, M.D.

Program Director
Extramural Science Programs
krosnics@mail.nih.gov

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

William Martin, M.D.

Associate Director for Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
wjmartin@mail.nih.gov

Danuta Krotoski, Ph.D. (Alternate)

Senior Advisor to the Director
Center for Developmental Biology & Perinatal Medicine
krotoskid@mail.nih.gov

Bruce Simons-Morton, Ed.D., M.P.H. (Alternate)

Senior Investigator
Extramural Science Programs
mortonb@exchange.nih.gov

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

Judith Cooper, Ph.D.

Deputy Director
cooperj@nidcd.nih.gov

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

Ruth Nowjack-Raymen, M.P.H., Ph.D.

Director, Health Disparities Research Program
Division of Extramural Research
nowjackr@mail.nih.gov

Timothy Iafolla, D.M.D., M.P.H. (Alternate)

Public Health Analyst
Office of Science Policy and Analysis
iafollat@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease (NIDDK)

Van Hubbard, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Division of Nutrition Research Coordination
van.hubbard@nih.hhs.gov

Margaret McDowell, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.D.

Nutrition Researcher
NIH Division of Nutrition Research Coordination
margaret.mcdowell@nih.gov

Robert Kuczmarski, Dr.P.H. (Alternate)

Director, Obesity Prevention and Treatment Program
Division of Digestive Diseases and Nutrition
kuczmarskr@extra.niddk.nih.gov

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Harold I. Perl, Ph.D.

Chief, Prevention Research Branch
Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research
hperl@nida.nih.gov

Belinda E. Sims, Ph.D. (Alternate)

Health Science Administrator
Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research
bsims@nida.nih.gov

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Kimberly Thigpen Tart, J.D.

Program Analyst
Office of Policy, Planning and Evaluation
thigpenk@niehs.nih.gov

Mary Gant, M.S. (Alternate)

Program Analyst
Office of the NIEHS Director - Bethesda
gant@niehs.nih.gov

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

Jeremy Brown, M.D. (Alternate)

Director
Office of Emergency Care Research
jeremy.brown@nih.gov

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

Amy Goldstein, Ph.D.

Program Chief, Child and Adolescent Treatment and Preventive Intervention Research Branch
Division of Services and Intervention Research
goldsteinam@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)

Francisco S. Sy. M.D., Dr.P.H.

Director, Office of Extramural Research Administration
francisco.sy@nih.gov

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

Katie Jakubs Pahigiannis, Ph.D.

Health Science Policy Analyst
Office of Science Policy and Planning
jakubsk@mail.nih.gov

Paul Scott, Ph.D. (Alternate)

Director, Office of Science Policy and Planning
scottp@ninds.nih.gov

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

Mary Roary, Ph.D.

Health Scientist Administrator, Wellness Branch
Office of Extramural Programs
mary.roary@nih.gov

Lynda Hardy, Ph.D., R.N.

Program Director, Wellness Branch
Office of Extramural Programs
lynda.hardy@nih.gov

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Lisa Lang

Chief, National Information Center for Health Services Research & Health Care Technology
langl@mail.nlm.nih.gov

Dana Casciotti, M.P.H., Ph.D. (Alternate)

Program Analyst
Office of Health Information and Programs Development
dana.casciotti@nih.gov

Patricia Gallagher, M.L.S., M.A., AHIP (Alternate)

Librarian
National Information Center for Health Services Research & Health Care Technology
patricia.gallagher@nih.gov

Barbara Rapp, Ph.D. (Alternate)

Chief, Office of Science Planning and Analysis
rappb@mail.nih.gov

John E. Fogarty International Center for Advanced Study in the Health Sciences (FIC)

Mark Miller, M.D.

Director, Division of International Epidemiology and Population Studies
millemar@mail.nih.gov

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)

Wendy Weber, N.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.

Program Officer
Division of Extramural Research
weberwj@mail.nih.gov

National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)

Stephen Seidel

Supervisory Program Analyst
Office of Science Policy
SeidelS@mail.nih.gov

NIH Clinical Center (CC)

Ninet Sinaii, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Epidemiologist, Biostatistics & Clinical Epidemiology Service
Office of the Deputy Director for Clinical Care
sinaiin@mail.nih.gov

Office of AIDS Research (OAR)

Paul Gaist, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Health Scientist Administrator
gaistp@nih.gov

Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR)

Robert M. Kaplan, Ph.D.

Director
robert.kaplan@nih.gov

Greg Furie, M.D. (Alternate)

AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow
gregg.furie@nih.gov

Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)

Christine Swanson, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.D.

Senior Nutrition Scientist
swansonc@mail.nih.gov

Paul Coates, Ph.D. (Alternate)

Director, Office of Dietary Supplements
coatesp@mail.nih.gov

Office of Disease Prevention (ODP)

David M. Murray, Ph.D.

Associate Director for Prevention
Director of the Office of Disease Prevention
david.murray2@nih.gov

Wilma Peterman Cross, M.S.

Chair, Prevention Research Coordinating Committee
Deputy Director
petermaw@mail.nih.gov

Barry Portnoy, Ph.D.

Senior Advisor for Disease Prevention
portnoyb@od.nih.gov

Denise Stredrick, Ph.D.

Executive Secretary, Prevention Research Coordinating Committee
Health Science Policy Analyst
stredrid@od.nih.gov

Office of Legislative Policy and Analysis (OLPA)

David Houppert, J.D.

Program Analyst
david.houppert@nih.gov

Anne Houser

Senior Legislative Analyst
housera@od1tm1.od.nih.gov

Patti Brandt-Hansberger (Alternate)

Senior Legislative Analyst
brandtp@od.nih.gov

Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)

Maggie Brewinski Isaacs, M.D., M.P.H.

Medical Officer
maggie.brewinskiisaacs@nih.gov

Amy Mistretta, M.P.H. (Alternate)

Epidemiologist
amy.mistretta@nih.gov

Other Federal Partners

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Therese Miller, Dr.P.H.

Director, Prevention and Care Management Portfolio
Center for Primary Care, Prevention & Clinical Partnerships
Therese.miller@ahrq.hhs.gov

Robert McNellis, M.P.H., P.A. (Alternate)

Senior Advisor for Primary Care
Center for Primary Care, Prevention & Clinical Partnerships
Robert.McNellis@ahrq.hhs.gov

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Shawna Mercer, M.Sc., Ph.D.

Director, The Guide to Community Preventive Services
Chief, The Community Guide Branch
Office of Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services
Smercer@cdc.gov

CAPT. Mehran Massoudi, M.P.H., Ph.D.

Associate Director for Science
Scientific Education and Professional Development Program Office
mrm8@cdc.gov

Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)

Emmeline Ochiai, M.P.H.

Senior Health Advisor
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
emmeline.ochiai@hhs.gov