2018 ODP Co-Funded Research Projects

The ODP provided limited co-funding to NIH Institutes, Centers, and Offices, and other agencies in 2018 for extramural prevention grants, NIH-sponsored meetings and workshops, and federal initiatives and projects.

NIH-Funded Grants

Organization Project Title Grant Number Principal Investigator and Institution
NCCIH NIH Collaboratory Application – A Pragmatic Trial of Parent-Focused Prevention in Pediatric Primary Care: Implementation and Adolescent Health Outcomes in Three Health Systems 1 UG3 AT009838-01 Richard Catalano, University of Washington
NCCIH Paying Attention to Physical Activity in Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) 1 R21 AT010041-01 Pooja Sarin Tandon, Seattle Children's Hospital
NCI Piloting a Peer Recruitment Model in an Anal Cancer Prevention Study 3UM1CA121947-12S2 Ronald Mitsuyasu, University of California Los Angeles
NIAAA

Impact of Marijuana Policies on Alcohol Use and Alcohol-Related Mortality 

1 R01 AA026268-01 Timothy Simonds Naimi, Boston Medical Center
NIBIB Center for Point-of-Care Technologies Research for Sexually Transmitted Diseases 2 U54 EB007958-11 Charlotte Gaydos, Johns Hopkins University
NICHD Assessing the Benefits Versus Harms of Universal Autism Screening in a Community-Based Sample 3 P50 HD093074-01 Geraldine Dawson and Scott Kollins, Duke University
NICHD A Randomized, Controlled Trial of a Telephone-Based Developmental Care Coordination System 1 R01 HD092406-01A1 Paul J. Chung, University of California Los Angeles
NICHD Pediatric Injury; Modules to Manage Medical Stress 1 R24 HD096350-01 Heather Keenan, University of Utah
NIMH A Pragmatic Trial of Two Strategies for Implementing an Effective eHealth HIV Prevention Program 1 R01 MH118213-01 Brian Mustanski, Northwestern University at Chicago
NINR Connect Through PLAY: A Staff-Based Physical Activity Intervention for Middle School Youth 1 R01 NR017619-01 Nicole Zarrett, University of South Carolina at Columbia
NINR Promoting Small Business Support of Youth Physical Activity in Low-Income, Minority Neighborhoods 1 R21 NR017267-01A1 Richard Suminski, University of Delaware

NIH-Sponsored Meetings, Workshops, and Conferences

Organization Project Title Contact Email
NCI Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems (ENDS) Measurement Workshop                      Rachel Grana Mayne granar@nci.nih.gov
NCI 11th Annual Conference on the Science of Dissemination and Implementation Research in Health Gila Neta netagil@mail.nih.gov   
NCI R13 Workshop – Learning from The Lancet: Lessons and Future Research Directions Drawn from the 2012 and 2016 Global Series on Physical Activity and Health Mark Alexander and David Berrigan alexandm@mail.nih.gov   berrigad@mail.nih.gov
NCI R13 Grant – Biennial 2018 International Congress of Behavioral Medicine (ICBM) Susan Czajkowski susan.czajkowski@nih.gov 
NCI R13 Grant – Behavioral Medicine Research Council Conference Susan Czajkowski susan.czajkowski@nih.gov 
NHGRI and ODP National Academies' Roundtable on Genomics and Precision Health Laura Rodrigues and Sheri Schully schullys@mail.nih.gov
NHLBI 18th Annual Summer Institute on the Design and Conduct of Randomized Behavioral Clinical Trials Kate Stoney stoneyc@mail.nih.gov
NHLBI R13 Grant – The U.S. Ten Day Seminar on the Epidemiology and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke Susan Shero  sheros@nhlbi.nih.gov
NHLBI Promoting Cardiovascular Health in Early Childhood (0-5 years) and Transitions in Childhood Though Adolescence –  A Workshop Charlotte Pratt prattc@nhlbi.nih.gov
NIA and
ODP
Measuring Multi-Morbidity: Matching the Instrument
and the Purpose Workshop
Marcel Salive and Carrie Klabunde marcel.salive@nih.gov
klabundc@mail.nih.gov 
NIAAA R13 Grant – Society for Prevention Research, 20172021 Annual Conference and Pre-Conference Meeting Mariela Shirley shirleym@mail.nih.gov
NINR State of Rural Health: Research, Gaps and
Recommendations
Mary Roary mary.roary@nih.gov

Federal Initiatives and Projects

Organization Project Title Contact Email
CDC Community Guide Systematic Review of Four School-Based Interventions to Increase Healthier Food and Beverage Consumption and Physical Activity Anil Thota athota@cdc.gov
CDC Effectiveness of Interventions to Reduce Obesity: Interventions that Utilize Individually-Tailored Computer-Generated Feedback with a Goal of Influencing Weight-Related Behaviors and/or Weight-Related Outcomes Anil Thota athota@cdc.gov
OBSSR National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR)  Deborah Young-Hyman deborah.young-hyman@nih.gov
ODPHP Physical Activity Guidelines Advisory Committee (PAGAC) Alison Vaux-Bjerke Alison.Vaux-Bjerke@hhs.gov
ODPHP National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) B-24 Month Project Kellie O. Casavale kellie.casavale@hhs.gov
ODPHP Developing the Healthy People 2030 Leading Health
Indicators – National Academy of Medicine Expert Panel
Tiffani Kigenyi tiffani.kigenyi@hhs.gov