ODP Co-Funded Prevention Research

The ODP provides limited co-funding support to NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs) and other federal agencies and offices for extramural grants, conferences, workshops, and efforts to enhance federal prevention projects.

The Office accepts co-funding requests from program staff at NIH ICs. We consider various factors in our co-funding decisions including commitment by the requesting organization to support the research and the availability of funds. Preference is given to prevention research areas where current research is lacking, as well as to collaborative research activities.

2017 ODP Co-Funded Research Projects

NIH-Funded Grants

Organization Project Title Grant Number Principal Investigator and Institution
NHLBI Childhood Obesity Prevention and Treatment Research 3U01HL103561-07S1 June Stevens, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NHLBI Society of Behavioral Medicine, 2017 Annual Meeting and Scientific Sessions 1R13HL137236-01 James Sallis, Society of Behavioral Medicine
NIAAA Society for Prevention Research, 2017–2021 Annual Conference 9R13AA025540-02 Richard Catalano, Society for Prevention Research
NIDA

Center for Prevention Implementation Methodology (Ce-PIM) for Drug Abuse and HIV

P30DA027828-07S1 Hendricks Brown, Northwestern University at Chicago
NIDDK Health and Economic Impacts of Coverage Requirements and Health System-Community Coordination for Diabetes Prevention 1R18DK110741-01A1 Ronald Ackermann, Northwestern University

NIH-Sponsored Meetings, Workshops, and Conferences

Organization Project Title Contact Email
NCI 10th Annual Conference on the Science of Dissemination and Implementation Research in Health Gila Neta netagil@mail.nih.gov
NHLBI U.S. Ten-Day Seminar on the Epidemiology and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke Pothur Srinivas srinivap@nhlbi.nih.gov
NHLBI 17th Annual Summer Institute on the Design and Conduct of Randomized Behavioral Clinical Trials Kate Stoney stoneyc@mail.nih.gov
NIAAA Workshop To Explore Research Needs in Addressing Emerging U.S. Crisis in Alcohol-Assisted Suicide Robert Freeman rfreeman@mail.nih.gov
NIDDK Society of Behavioral Medicine, 2017 Annual Meeting and Scientific Sessions Voula Osganian voula.osganian@nih.gov
NINR The Science of Caregiving Summit: Bringing Voices Together Nara Gavini nara.gavini@nih.gov
ODP National Academies’ Roundtable on Genomics and Precision Health Sheri Schully schullys@mail.nih.gov

Federal Initiatives and Projects

Organization Project Title Contact Email
NHLBI Accumulating Data To Optimally Predict Obesity Treatment (ADOPT) Core Measures Project Holly Nicastro holly.nicastro@nih.gov
NHLBI Data Collection To Support Tracking of Healthy People 2020 Heart Disease and Stroke (HDS) Objectives Whitney Barfield
Susan Shero
whitney.barfield@nih.gov
ss632e@nih.gov
OBSSR National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR) Deborah Young-Hyman deborah.young-hyman@nih.gov