NIH Prevention Research Coordinating Committee (PRCC)

Coordinated by the ODP, the NIH Prevention Research Coordinating Committee (PRCC) is a trans-NIH committee that:

  • Serves as a venue for exchanging programmatic and scientific information of interest to the NIH, planning and implementing collaborative activities across the NIH, and disseminating information about federal and non-federal activities.
  • Provides a broad perspective on the current state-of-the-science.
  • Advises the ODP Director regarding scientific, programmatic, and policy issues.

The trans-NIH Prevention Scientific Interest Groups (SIGs) were developed by the ODP as a result of discussions with PRCC members.

For additional information about the PRCC, please contact:

Rachel Ballard, M.D., M.P.H., Chair
Office of Disease Prevention
rachel.ballard@nih.gov

Ashley Vargas, Ph.D., M.P.H., Executive Secretary
Office of Disease Prevention
ashley.vargas@nih.gov

 

PRCC Members

NIH Partners

prcc nih partners

Clinical Center (CC)

Ninet Sinaii, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Epidemiologist
Biostatistics & Clinical Epidemiology Service
Office of the Deputy Director for Clinical Care
sinaiin@mail.nih.gov


Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Rosalind Berkowitz King, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Prevention (Acting)
Health Scientist Administrator
Population Dynamics Branch
Rosalind.King@nih.gov

Tracy M. King, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Branch
tracy.king@nih.gov


John E. Fogarty International Center for Advanced Study in the Health Sciences (FIC)

Mark Miller, M.D.
Director
Division of International Epidemiology and Population Studies
millemar@mail.nih.gov


National Cancer Institute (NCI)

Peter Greenwald, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Director of Prevention
greenwap@mail.nih.gov

Martina V. Taylor, M.T.
Senior Prevention Science Advisor
Division of Cancer Prevention
martina.taylor@mail.nih.gov

Susan M. Czajkowski, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Chief
Health Behaviors Research Branch
Behavioral Research Program
Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences
susan.czajkowski@nih.gov


National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)

Stephen Seidel
Supervisory Program Analyst
Office of Science Policy
seidels@mail.nih.gov


National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

Dave Clark, Dr.P.H.
Health Scientist Administrator
Clinical Research in Complementary & Integrative Health Branch
Dave.Clark@nih.gov


National Eye Institute (NEI)

Shefa Gordon, Ph.D.
Acting Director
Office of Program Planning and Analysis
shefa@nei.nih.gov


National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

Josephine Boyington, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Program Director
Clinical Application and Prevention Branch
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
boyingtonje@mail.nih.gov

Lawton S. Cooper, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
Division of Prevention and Population Sciences
cooperls@nhlbi.nih.gov


National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)

Jeffrey P. Struewing, M.D., M.S.
Program Director
Genotype-Tissue Expression Project (GTEx)
struewij@mail.nih.gov


National Institute on Aging (NIA)

Marcel E. Salive, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology
marcel.salive@nih.gov

Lyndon Joseph, Ph.D.
Program Officer
Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology
josephlj@mail.nih.gov


National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Ralph Hingson, Sc.D., M.P.H.
Director
Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research
rhingson@mail.nih.gov

Mariela Shirley, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Health Science Administrator
shirleym@mail.nih.gov


National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

Tara A. Schwetz, Ph.D.
Chief
Strategic Planning and Evaluation Branch
tara.schwetz@nih.gov

Elizabeth Walsh, Ph.D.
Health Science Analyst
Strategic Planning and Evaluation Branch
elizabeth.walsh@nih.gov


National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Disease (NIAMS)

Susana Serrate-Sztein, M.D.
Director
Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
szteins@mail.nih.gov

Kristy M. Nicks, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Research Program Analyst
Division of Musculoskeletal Diseases
kristy.nicks@nih.gov


National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Steven Krosnick, M.D.
Program Director
Extramural Science Programs
krosnics@mail.nih.gov


National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

Judith Cooper, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
cooperj@nidcd.nih.gov


National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

D. Jonathan Horsford, Ph.D.
Acting Director, Office of Science Policy and Analysis
horsforj@nidcr.nih.gov

Darien Weatherspoon, D.D.S., M.P.H.
Program Director, Health Disparities Research Program
darien.weatherspoon@nih.gov

Timothy Iafolla, D.M.D., M.P.H. (Alternate)
Public Health Analyst
Office of Science Policy and Analysis
iafollat@mail.nih.gov


National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

Robert Kuczmarski, Dr.P.H.
Director
Obesity Prevention and Treatment Program
Division of Digestive Diseases and Nutrition
kuczmarskr@extra.niddk.nih.gov


National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Jacqueline Lloyd, Ph.D, M.S.W.
Acting Branch Chief
Prevention Research Branch
Division of Epidemiology, Services and Prevention Research
lloydj2@nida.nih.gov

Belinda E. Sims, Ph.D.
Health Science Administrator
Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research
bsims@nida.nih.gov


National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Kimberly Thigpen Tart, J.D., M.P.H.
Program Analyst
Office of Policy, Planning and Evaluation
thigpenk@niehs.nih.gov


National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

Eve E. Reider, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Prevention Research
Health Scientist Administrator, Treatment and Prevention Intervention Research Branch
Division of Services and Intervention Research
ereider@mail.nih.gov


National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)

Joyce A. Hunter, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
hunterj@nih.gov

Nancy L. Jones, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Health Scientist Administrator
jonesna@mail.nih.gov


National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

Katie Jakubs Pahigiannis, Ph.D.
Health Science Policy Analyst
Office of Science Policy and Planning
jakubsk@mail.nih.gov

Paul Scott, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Director
Office of Science Policy and Planning
scottp@ninds.nih.gov


National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

Mary Roary, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Wellness Branch
Office of Extramural Programs
mary.roary@nih.gov


National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Lisa Lang
Chief
National Information Center for Health Services Research & Health Care Technology
langl@mail.nlm.nih.gov

Patricia Gallagher, M.L.S., M.A., AHIP (Alternate)
Librarian
National Information Center for Health Services Research & Health Care Technology
patricia.gallagher@nih.gov

Rebecca Goodwin, JD (Alternate)
Executive Secretary, NIH Clinical Common Data Elements Task Force
Data Science Specialist
Data Science Coordinating Unit
Office of Program Development

rebecca.goodwin@nih.gov


Office of AIDS Research (OAR)

Paul Gaist, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Health Scientist Administrator
gaistp@nih.gov


Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR)

Deborah Young-Hyman, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
deborah.young-hyman@nih.gov


Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)

Barbara Sorkin, Ph.D.
Director
Botanical Research Centers Program
sorkinb@od.nih.gov

LaVerne L Brown, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Program Officer
LaVerne.Brown@nih.gov

 


Office of Disease Prevention (ODP)

David M. Murray, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Prevention
Director of the Office of Disease Prevention
david.murray2@nih.gov

Rachel Ballard, M.D., M.P.H.
Chair
Prevention Research Coordinating Committee
rachel.ballard@nih.gov


Office of Legislative Policy and Analysis (OLPA)

David Houppert, J.D.
Program Analyst
david.houppert@nih.gov

Anne Houser
Senior Legislative Analyst
housera@od1tm1.od.nih.gov

Patti Brandt-Hansberger (Alternate)
Senior Legislative Analyst
brandtp@od.nih.gov


Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)

A. Gretchen Buckler, M.D., M.P.H.
CDR, USPHS Commissioned Corps
Medical Officer, Clinical Research
bucklerag@nih.gov

Other Federal Partners

prcc other federal partners

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Iris Mabry-Hernandez, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Program
iris.mabry-hernandez@ahrq.hhs.gov

Tracy Wolff, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Program
tracy.wolff@ahrq.hhs.gov


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Shawna Mercer, M.Sc., Ph.D.
Director, The Guide to Community Preventive Services
Chief, The Community Guide Branch
Center for Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services
smercer@cdc.gov 

Brigette Ulin, M.P.H.
Chief, Applied Research & Translation Branch
Director, Prevention Research Centers Program
Division of Population Health
bcf8@cdc.gov

Connie L. Bish, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Team Lead
Evaluation and Translation Team
Applied Research and Translation Branch
Division of Population Health
cbish@cdc.gov


Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health (OASH)

Mehran S. Massoudi, Ph.D., M.P.H.
CAPT, U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS)
Regional Health Administrator
Region VI (AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)
Commander – USPHS Applied Public Health Team #4
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
mehran.massoudi@hhs.gov


Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)

Emmeline Ochiai, M.P.H.
Senior Health Advisor
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
emmeline.ochiai@hhs.gov